City Council



  1. When

    : 5:30 p.m. First and Third Monday of each month. (Unless there is a holiday, meeting will be following day)

  2. Where

    : Council Chambers, City Hall
  3. Meeting Schedule

Know your Council

  1. Mon Apr. 19 - Mon May 17

    Public Comment: Broadway Corridor Study The City of Minot is hosting a second virtual open house beginning today to provide information and collect public comments as part of the Broadway Corridor Study. The virtual open house will run from April 19 to May 17 at Visitors to the site can review project documents, view corridor alternative overview videos, and submit comments. There will also be live question and answer sessions on May 5 for Broadway south of 20th Avenue SW and May 6 for Broadway north of 2...
  2. Mon May 3 - Fri May 7

    2021 Spring Cleanup Week The City of Minot Sanitation Department offers spring cleanup for its patrons. Crews will be picking up furniture, up to two appliances, tires, propane tanks, and additional household garbage. Routes are divided into four sections during the week. Refer to the cleanup route map to find out what day crews will be in your area.
  3. Fri May 7 - Sat May 8

    Household Hazardous Waste Collection The City of Minot will sponsor an annual Household Hazardous Waste Collection Program at the City of Minot Public Works building on May 7th and May 8th from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. both days. All household hazardous waste not normally picked up by the sanitation crews may be brought to this program free of charge for City of Minot sanitation customers. The household hazardous waste drop off and exchange facility at the landfill will be open during normal landfill hours, in spring through fall, depe...
View All


City Council

Previous City Council Meetings



The City Council is the governing body of the municipality.

Appointment, Membership, Term

The governing body of the City of Minot is the city council, which is composed of seven (7) members, one (1) being the mayor and six (6) being aldermen.

The terms of aldermen of the city council shall be four (4) years, or until their successors are elected and qualified. One-half (½) of the elected aldermen shall be elected biennially at the regular city election.

The Mayor shall be elected at large and shall hold office for four years and until his successor is elected and qualified. The term of office of the mayor shall commence on the fourth Tuesday in June in the year in which elected and shall continue until his or her successor is elected and qualified.


Chapter 40-08, NDCC.

Chapter 2, Article II and Chapter 2, Article III, of the City of Minot Code of Ordinances 
Revised 6/2017